Award ceremony


Dolf Henkes Award ceremony 2021 (livestream)

Artists Kevin Osepa, Koes Staassen, Jay Tan and Geo Wyeth have been nominated for the Dolf Henkes Prize 2021. The winner of this edition will be announced during an online award ceremony on Thursday 1 July from 17.00 pm. The Henkes Foundation awards the prize of € 12.000. Watch the livestream on

The jury, which this year is chaired by Nathanja van Dijk (director Kunsthal Rotterdam) and further consists of Fons Hof (director Art Rotterdam), Charl Landvreugd (artist, curator and Head of Research & Curatorial Practice at the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam) and Evelyn Taocheng Wang (winner Dolf Henkes Prize 2019), makes the following statement about the nominations: “We were delighted to be able to choose from a large number of artists that put Rotterdam – and often Curaçao – on the map with their fresh, quirky and innovative artistic practice. In their great diversity, the nominated artists have in common that they each investigate topical themes such as origin, heritage, historiography, identity, queerness and physicality in their own radical way. At the same time, they transcend the social debate by means of a refined and intelligent visual language.”